Patience is a virtue


Well, if patience is a virtue, this winter season is teaching us a character lesson in the Pinzgau region. Snow has been a rare resource here this winter. All of my attempts to get down to Italy or Osttirol where the snow is, have fallen through.
Our hopes for a road trip last weekend, were shot down by the FWQ organization due to overbooking for both stops. La Clusaz ended up getting cancelled for lack of snow at the last minute anyway. Verbier would have been super sweet but again… they said no. There were several riders who did register late… a week after I was told that they were overbooked some non-ranked riders were confirmed! My ranking was slipping down and down and down the list each week when a comp is cancelled… my chances of entering other good contests later in the season were diminishing… this meant I had better “go Big or go Home” in Kappl on the 25th!
I did manage to get a few interesting runs in here and there on Kitzsteinhorn. Monday January 6th was fun, finally some blue sky and small amount of new snow. Catching the first chair gave me about 1,5 hours access to the 20cm of freshy, by which time the rest of the world decided to ride gullies too. The 20cm allowed for a little bit of a floating feeling in between the shark attacks, to which I owe the 5 new long scratches in the base of my best board. That’s what I call pleasure and pain all in one.
January 11th was also a big surprise… up the mountain nice and early (and super sleepy!) I ran into a friend who I took some runs with. Not expecting good conditions, I was surprised to see that there had been a little snowfall and some good wind blowing that snow down into the gullies for us. We managed first tracks in fun conditions and shot a few quick pics in between.
January 12th was supposed to be some “hike to ride” backcountry but turned out to be only one short hike with a nice run. The weather has been anything but wintery here, temps well above freezing and high winds on the mountain makes the snow soggy during the day and then forms a crust when it cools overnight. We hiked a fairly well protected face finding a nice decent luckily.
Outlook: the next few weeks are going to be fun and action packed! This coming weekend will hopefully finally kick off my contest season. The I-FREE Tre Cime Freeride contest, shredding with Thrive Snowboards, ISPO and finally FWQ Kappl! More to come later!

Leave a Reply

